Due to a complete lack of popularity, Google will be shutting down its ”social platform”. The close down will be gradual, with Google only starting to close down user’s accounts on the April 2nd; the whole process is said to take up to several months. Every Google+ user can download his G+ data before that. Also, the G+ pictures will not be deleted (it is unknown where exacly will they be stored). Starting February 4th, Google will disallow creation of any new Google+ profiles & content. Any websites that you could access with your Google+ login will become accessible with a standard Google login.
Good riddance, I guess.